Photographic Essay – Music also touched my heart

Besides photography, music has been one big thing in my life, I guess making a circle on my passion to arts.

In my early stages, I studied flute a couple years, didn’t start young enough, and also had to work a regular job to pay the bills, so I had to let it go against my deepest feelings…

Years later, I decided to become a full time photographer. At some point, I started working on the idea of doing an essay of these two arts that were so close to my heart.

I went to Luis Szarán, who is the Director of the Asuncion Symphonic Orchestra, and ask him to allow me to go to their rehearsals and shoot, he kindly agreed…

Here are some pics of what I called “The Music in Movement”. It was shown first at an art gallery on March, 1999, and a couple months later at the inauguration of the Symphonic Orchestra’s Season that year in Asuncion, Paraguay.

All pictures were taken in film, so I scanned the proofs. This was one of my last essays before coming to USA.

I hope you enjoy my vision… 

Al Ojeda

A note about Luis Szarán:

Conductor, Composer and Musicologist. He studied in Asunción with José Luis Miranda. Then in Santa Cecilia’s Conservatory, Rome, with Massimo Pradella and Piero Belluggi. Perfected in international courses as: “Teatro Colón” from Buenos Aires with Hans Swarowsky; “Academia Chigiana” of Siena with Franco Ferrara; “Institute Francesco Cannetti” with Luciano Berio; “Bayreuth Festival” with Zwinieg Rudzinsky, to mention a few. From 1990 he has been managing the Symphonic Orchestra of the City of Asunción (OSCA), and is also the Director of the Chamber Orchestra Philomusica de Asunción. He has conducted noted orchestras worldwide, earned numerous prizes, national and international recognitions, and is also dedicated to spread the music amongst young neediest on the Paraguayan countryside through his organization: “Sonidos de la Tierra”.

Share

2 thoughts on “Photographic Essay – Music also touched my heart

Leave a Reply

